
THE HISTORY OF DRUID HILLS UMC
Druid Hills United Methodist Church has a rich history.
Druid Hills United Methodist Church was organized August 19, 1957 with 18 charter members. The first service was held at a house on West Lake Drive. The membership had grown to 42 members by the end of the year, and a church building was taking shape.
The parsonage was located on 40th Ave. Rev. Buford Dickinson suggested that we plant sweet potatoes on the vacant lot behind the parsonage and sell them to help with expenses. Of all our projects over the years, this was the most unique.
The Education Building and Fellowship Hall were constructed in December of 1959. The Fellowship Hall also served as a sanctuary and the house became a parsonage. By this time, the average attendance on Sunday was 80. Bishop Marvin Franklin conducted a Service of Dedication in January, 1960; the membership had grown to over 100 members.
The WSCS (now UMW) and Methodist Youth Fellowship were organized in 1958 while what is now United Methodist Men was organized in 1960. Membership reached 200 in 1963, with an average Sunday School attendance of 115.
The dream of a sanctuary began to grow in the hearts of the people, but it was not constructed for nearly 20 years. On Palm Sunday 1987, the first service was held in our sanctuary. The steeple was erected in 1990 with an additional parking lot on the south side of the building added in 1992.
In June, 2002, Fifth Street United Methodist Church closed and their pastor - Rev. David Meadows - was appointed to Druid Hills with most of Fifth Street’s membership also coming to Druid Hills. The note on the sanctuary was burned in August, 2004.
In June, 2018, Rev. Jonathan Tullos was appointed to Druid Hills. Under his leadership, we continue in God’s service.